Commission Members

Under Soil Conservation District law (Idaho Code § 22-2718), five Soil & Water Conservation Commission members are appointed by the Governor of the State of Idaho. The current Commission members were appointed on various dates and serve staggered terms.

Parties interested in applying to serve on the Commission should submit an application to the Office of the Governor.


Commissioner H Norman Wright Chairman

H. Norman Wright, Chairman

Norman Wright was raised on a dairy farm near Caldwell and has degrees in business administration and finance from Boise State University. Chairman Wright has served on the Power County Board of Commissioners, on the American Falls City Council, and as president of the American Falls Lions Club. He brings extensive experience to the Commission, including involvement with the Soil Conservation Service and the Canyon County conservation district, as well as 33 years with the Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service (now known as Farm Service Agency).
Term Expires July 1, 2022.
View the Chairman's message.


Commissioner Gerald Trebesch Secretary

Jerry Trebesch, Vice-Chairman

Gerald "Jerry" Trebesch is a retired agricultural banker with extensive statewide experience and has been heavily involved with agricultural lending since obtaining his degree in agricultural business from Montana State University. He brings a broad understanding of statewide agricultural issues having lived and worked in Rigby, Salmon, St. Maries, Soda Springs, Caldwell, Boise, and Meridian throughout his career. Mr. Trebesch currently lives in Boise and operates cow-calf stocker and feeder cattle operations.
Term Expires July 1, 2021. 


 Commissioner Leon Slichter

Leon Slichter, Secretary

Leon Slichter was raised on a cattle ranch in Grangeville. A fifth generation Idahoan, he still operates the ranch alongside two of his sons. Mr. Slichter has been actively involved with local soil conservation efforts for 21 years and is the current Chair of the Board of the Idaho Soil and Water Conservation District. In addition, he has also served the Idaho Cattle Association as a Board member. Mr. Slichter’s agricultural background and many years of experience with voluntary conservation make him a valuable asset to the Commission.  Term Expires July 1, 2018.


Commissioner David Radford

Dave Radford, Commissioner

Dave Radford is a fifth generation Idahoan, born and raised in Idaho Falls. He currently serves as a Bonneville County Commissioner and has been active in his county and community for a number of years. Mr. Radford has been active in local conservation efforts and currently serves as Chair of the High Country Resource Conservation and Development Council, and is also a member of the Idaho Farm Bureau and the Grand Teton Peaks Council Executive Committee. 
Term Expires July 1, 2019.


Cathy Roemer, Commissioner 

Commissioner Roemer is a native Idahoan and lifetime resident of the Magic Valley. She has served on the Jerome County Farm Bureau Board for the last 16 years. She was a free-lance agricultural journalist prior to her election to the Jerome County Commission in 2008, and is a strong supporter of the industry. Roemer’s the first woman appointed to the Board since its establishment in 1939.

Term Expires July 1, 2020.